I Can’t Breathe

Opening this Friday, December 4 from 6-9pm

Discussion with Jurors Romi Crawford, PhD and Mary Patten
Saturday, December 12, 2015 – 4-6pm

Exhibition dates: November 25 through December 19, 2015
Gallery hours: Wed to Sat 12-6 pm, and Sun. 12-4 pm  

Having endured a year in which video after video has appeared, showing shocking violence by police against unarmed citizens, ARC begins a conversation about these events. The videos have forced all of us to address related ignorance and denial, as well as to ask even bigger questions about the nature of institutionalized racism.

ARC Gallery and Educational Foundation has long been dedicated to honoring the creative voices of people lacking other avenues of expression. Since 1973, ARC has given exposure and support to both male and female artists, providing an atmosphere for the continued development of artistic potential and experimentation. Now, ARC has embraced the opportunity to mount “I Can’t Breathe”. This exhibition builds upon the visual narratives that troubled, empowered, enlightened, or enraged us over these past months and years.

Juried by Romi Crawford, Ph.D. and Mary Patten, this exhibition presents artists from all walks of life who are using their voices in a variety of media to address the profound phrase, “I can’t breathe…” Crawford, an associate professor in Visual and Critical Studies and Liberal Arts at The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, has a long history with art that revolves around political, racial, and gendered identity. Patten also teaches, at The School of the Art Institute of Chicago and works collaboratively with the Chicago Torture Justice Memorials and Feel Tank Chicago.

Participating artists: Zahran Alaqeel, Alexandra Antoine, B. Ra-El Ali, Soheila Azadi, Anna Bae, Richard Bannister, Tavarus Blackmonster, William Blake, James Britt, Steve Buduo, Christine Cho, Calcagno Cullen, Ryan Davis, Joseph Doyle, Nia Easley, Eca Eps, Maria Fragoudaki, Francesca Gagliano, Emily Greenberg, Will Hafeman, Melissa Halka, Karim Hanna, Alex Harris, Rachel L. Slusarczyk Harper, Paula Henderson, Jesse Howard, YK Hong, Emilia Izquierdo, Cameron Jarvis, Jennifer Karmin and J’Sun Howard, Jenny Keyser, Dawn Kim, Dante Kirkman, Lyle Kleinhans, Steffi Klenz, Saskia Knowles, Kelly Lloyd, Kuumba Lynx, Antonia McMan-McCline, Angelica Mercado, Matthew Miklavcic, Tiana Marie Mincey, Luke Montavon, Matthew Nicholas, David Obermeyer, AnaMarie Paredes, Lauren Patrrick, Megan Pitcher, The Plug-In Studio, Claire Pope, Steven Quinn, Trace Rosel, Rochele Royster, Heath Schultz, Kathryn Scott, Tony Smith, Shawn Michelle Smith, Brad Stolbach, Shelby Stone, Robert Summers, Eda Sutunc, Miguel SZ, Mirland Terlonge, Darryl Terrell, Raymond Thomas, Nancy VanKanegan, Lisa Vinebaum, Jessie Whitehead, Brittney Leeanne Williams, Evan D. Williams, Noga Wizansky, Allison Yasukawa, and Kathryn Young.